South African Swimming Championships 

2007 - Durban

Olympian Melissa Corfe 

Wendy Trott Wins 800 Free at South African Championships

DURBAN, April 12 2007.

THE 400 freestyle title already in her pocket, Wendy Trott added the 800 free championship Thursday at the South African National Championships. Trott was far from overwhelming, as she was well off her time from the World Championships, but her outing of 8:50.17 delivered an eight-second win over Kathryn Meaklim (8:58.23). Trott went 8:31.53 at the World Champs.

"I have been tapering for almost six weeks now so it was going to be difficult to get close to my record again," Trott said. "Melbourne was fantastic and it was amazing to swim next to Laure Manaudou of France in the final of the 800 freestyle at the World Championships. I was so happy to be in the final of this event in Melbourne as it is my favorite."

In the men's 200 freestyle, Riaan Schoeman earned the gold medal, complementing his earlier triumph in the 400 free. Schoeman was also the bronze medalist in the 200 backstroke. On the women's side, qualifying for the 200 free was led by Melissa Corfe in 2:01.80, a personal best. Meanwhile, Gerhard Zandberg topped qualifying in the 50 backstroke with a mark of 26.33. Last week, he won the world title in the one-lap backstroke.

James Verhagen

James Verhagen - at Dartmouth College, USA.


Telkom SA championships, King's Park Pool

Durban - April 16, 2007


50m breaststroke: 1 Cameron van den Burgh (Northern Tigers) 28.10, 2 Gerhard Zandberg (Northern Tigers) 28.84, 3 Thabang Moeketsane (Central Gauteng) 29.01

50m butterfly: 1 Gerhard Zandberg (Northern Tigers) 24.88, 2 Warren Grobbelaar (Northern Tigers) 24.97; Gabriel Mangabeira (Brazil) 25.09

400m individual medley: 1 Riaan Schoeman (KZN) 4:21.05, 2 Jay-Cee Thomson (Central Gauteng) 4:28.93, 3 Rousseau Kluever (WP) 4:31.51

100m backstroke: 1 George du Rand (Free State) 55.89, 2 Gerhard Zandberg (Northern Tigers) 55.89, 3 Garth Tune (Central Gauteng) 57.66

1,500m freestyle: 1 Herman Heerden (WP) 15:43.19, 2 John Ellis (KZN) 15:43.93, 3 Chad Ho (KZN) 15:50.57

400m medley relay: 1 Northern Tigers 3:47.40, 2 Central Gauteng A 3:47.40, 3 Western Province A 3:52.45

Multi-Disability 50m breaststroke: 1 Tadhg Slattery (Central Gauteng), 2 Sibusiso Mogale (Central Gauteng), 3 Craig Groenewald (Central Gauteng)


50m butterfly: 1 Sophie Edington (Australia) 27.66, 2 Mandy Loots (Central Gauteng) 27.80, 3 Elzanne Werth (Central Gauteng) 28.43

100m backstroke: 1 Sophie Edington (Australia) 1:01.93, 2 Fabiola Molina (Brazil) 1:02.73, 3 Charlene Wittstock (KZN) 1:04.19

100m freestyle: 1 Sophie Edington (Australia) 56.49, 2 Melisa Corfe (KZN) 56.97, 3 Karin Prinsloo (Northern Tigers) 57.99

50m breaststroke: 1 Tammy Laubscher (Northern Tigers) 33.21, 2 Suzaan van Biljon (Northern Tigers) 33.21, 3 Tasmynne Roe (EP) 33.54

400m individual medley: 1 Jessica Pengelly (Western Province) 4:43.76, 2 Kathryn Meaklim (KZN) 4:51.43, 3 Kzarlier van Heerden (Northern Tigers) 4:53.32 (SA record)

400m medley relay: 1 Northern Tigers A 4:17.67, 2 Central Gauteng A 4:20.63, 3 KwaZulu Natal A 4:21.74

Multi-disability 50m breaststroke: 1 Emily Gray (Central Gauteng), 2 Cornelia Fowler (KZN), 3 Beth Nothling (Northern Natal), 4 Andri Visser (Central Gauteng)


Men's final

Western Province A  11  Gauteng A  8

Women's final

Western Province A 8  KZN A7

The Olympic Squad:

Women: Melissa Corfe, Yolanda du Plessis, Amanda Loots, Jessica Pengelly, Karin Prinsloo, Keri Shaw, Wendy Trott, Suzaan van Biljon, Chanelle van Wyk.

Men: Jean Basson, William Diering, George du Rand, Lyndon Ferns, Shaun Harris, Gideon Louw, Thabang Moeketsane, Ryk Neethling, Troyden Prinsloo, Riaan Schoeman, Roland Schoeman, Darian Townsend, Garth Tune, Cameron van der Burgh, Neil Versfeld, Gerhard Zandberg.

National Squad:

Women: Liezl-Mari Burger, Tamaryn Laubscher, Trudi Maree, Kathryn Meaklim, Lize-Mari Retief, Charlene Wittstock.

Men: Ryan de Klerk, John Ellis, Wesley Gilchrist, Warren Grobbelaar, Heerden Herman, Russell Kopp, Mario Rankin, Sebastian Rousseau, Charl van Zyl.